By David Ghazaryan, NMLS 1486726, iQRATE Mortgages (NMLS 1862492). Updated October 29, 2026.

Short answer: Several lenders publish asset depletion (asset utilization) programs and hold Nevada licenses. They turn eligible savings, brokerage and retirement balances into qualifying income instead of pay stubs or tax returns. Divisors, asset haircuts and loan sizes vary by lender. iQRATE Mortgages, a Las Vegas broker, compares them for Summerlin and Henderson jumbo buyers.

Key facts (Oct 2026)

  • Fannie Mae (conforming loans): Selling Guide B3-3.4-06, dated 03/04/2026, counts employment-related assets (such as retirement accounts the borrower can fully withdraw, or a lump-sum retirement or severance payout) as income by dividing net documented assets by the loan's amortization term in months. Purchase and limited cash-out refinance only, principal residence and second home only, maximum LTV 70%, or 80% if the asset owner is at least 62 (Fannie Mae Selling Guide, fetched Oct 26, 2026).
  • Fannie Mae moved this policy: the employment-related assets rules formerly in B3-3.1-09, Other Sources of Income, now sit in B3-3.4-06, so older pages citing B3-3.1-09 point to relocated text (Fannie Mae, Income assessment, now simplified, fetched Oct 26, 2026).
  • Freddie Mac (conforming loans): Bulletin 2026-10, dated August 5, 2026, updates Guide Section 5307.1 so accumulated assets may be used as qualifying income for settlement dates on or after February 3, 2027 (sellers may implement immediately), cuts the division factor from 240 to 180, sets a $30,000 minimum net eligible asset amount, permits primary, second-home and investment occupancy, and removes the 80% LTV cap (Freddie Mac Bulletin 2026-10, fetched Oct 26, 2026).
  • Nevada conforming limit: the 2026 one-unit conforming loan limit is $832,750 in Clark County and every other Nevada county, so a larger Las Vegas loan is a jumbo loan outside these Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac rules (FHFA 2026 county loan limit list; FHFA, fetched Oct 26, 2026).
  • Non-QM asset depletion programs (2026 wholesale lender guidelines we reviewed; varies by lender): divisors of about 60 to 120 months depending on the program; checking, savings, CDs and often brokerage accounts counted at 100%, retirement balances often discounted to about 70% to 80%; minimum credit scores around 620 to 700; maximum LTV around 75% to 80%; loan sizes from about $150,000 up to $3 million to $4 million; reserves of about 3 to 6 months.
  • Some non-QM "asset qualifier" programs skip the income calculation entirely and instead require total assets that cover the loan amount, recurring debts, closing funds and reserves, often with a high minimum post-closing asset balance and seasoned funds; some limit occupancy to a primary residence or second home. Varies by lender.
  • Federal ability-to-repay rule: 12 CFR 1026.43(c)(2)(i) lets a lender rely on a consumer's current or reasonably expected income or assets (other than the home securing the loan), (c)(4) requires verifying the assets relied on with third-party records, and the official interpretation says a lender relying wholly on investment income need not verify employment status (CFPB, Regulation Z 1026.43, fetched Oct 26, 2026).

Asset depletion mortgage lender in Nevada

An asset depletion mortgage lender in Nevada qualifies you on what you own rather than what you earn. Instead of W-2s, pay stubs or tax returns, the lender documents your eligible accounts, applies a haircut to each account type, subtracts the cash you need to close and the reserves it requires, and converts the rest into a monthly income figure. That figure is then used like any other income to test the loan.

The names are not standardized. Lenders call these programs asset depletion, asset utilization, asset-based or asset qualifier loans, and calculation methods differ. Some asset qualifier programs skip the income calculation entirely and instead require total assets that cover the loan amount, debts, closing funds and reserves. So the program name tells you less than the published guideline does.

Before choosing a program, check four things: that the lender is licensed in Nevada, which divisor it uses, how it discounts retirement and brokerage accounts, and whether it allows your occupancy type.

Asset depletion jumbo loan Las Vegas

An asset depletion jumbo loan in Las Vegas starts where the agency rules stop. Every Nevada county, including Clark County, has a 2026 one-unit conforming loan limit of $832,750, and the Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac asset rules apply only to conforming loans. For a guard-gated home in Summerlin, a view lot in Henderson's MacDonald Highlands, Anthem or Seven Hills, or a high-rise condo near the Strip, a loan above that limit means a non-QM jumbo program with its own published divisor, haircuts, credit minimum and loan cap.

Buyers who typically look at this route include business owners who sold a company, people living on investment or retirement accounts, buyers relocating to Nevada with significant savings, and self-employed buyers whose tax returns show less income than their balance sheet. Eligibility depends on the assets and the file, not on who you are. For the full Las Vegas jumbo picture, see our jumbo loans page and the Summerlin and Henderson mortgage broker pages.

Asset depletion parameters: agency rules and typical non-QM ranges

Varies by lender. Typical published ranges, not an offer. Agency figures are quoted from Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac; non-QM figures are unnamed ranges from 2026 wholesale lender guidelines we reviewed.

Asset depletion parameters: agency rules and typical non-QM ranges (varies by lender)
ProgramDivisor or qualifying method (published)Eligible assets and haircuts (published)Maximum LTV (published)Minimum FICO (published)Loan size (published)Occupancy (published)Nevada license or state coverageSource and fetch date
Fannie Mae, Selling Guide B3-3.4-06 (agency benchmark)Net documented assets divided by the loan's amortization term in monthsEmployment-related assets only; subtract any early-withdrawal penalty and funds used for down payment, closing costs and reserves; virtual currency not eligible70%; 80% if asset owner is 62 or olderNot stated on fetched pageConforming only: $832,750 one-unit limit in every Nevada county (2026, FHFA)Principal residence and second home; purchase and limited cash-out refinanceNationwide agency guidelinehttps://selling-guide.fanniemae.com/sel/b3-3.4-06/employment-related-assets-qualifying-income, fetched Oct 26, 2026
https://www.fhfa.gov/document/d/cll/fullcountyloanlimitlist2026_hera-based_final_flat.xlsx, fetched Oct 26, 2026
Freddie Mac, Guide 5307.1 per Bulletin 2026-10 (agency benchmark)180 months (down from 240) for settlement dates on or after Feb 3, 2027; sellers may implement immediatelyMinimum $30,000 net eligible assets; depository and securities accounts seasoned 12 months unless funded from eligible sources80% cap removed; follows Guide Section 4203.1Not stated on fetched pageConforming only: $832,750 one-unit limit in every Nevada county (2026, FHFA)Primary residence, second home and investment property; purchase or no cash-out refinanceNationwide agency guidelinehttps://guide.freddiemac.com/ci/okcsFattach/get/1010693_7, fetched Oct 26, 2026
https://www.fhfa.gov/document/d/cll/fullcountyloanlimitlist2026_hera-based_final_flat.xlsx, fetched Oct 26, 2026
Non-QM asset depletion / asset utilization (typical ranges, varies by lender)Eligible assets divided by about 60 to 120 months, depending on the programChecking, savings, CDs and often stocks, bonds and brokerage accounts at 100%; retirement often about 70% to 80%About 75% to 80%About 620 to 700Up to about $3 million to $4 millionVaries; some allow primary, second home and investment propertyUse a Nevada-licensed lender2026 wholesale lender guidelines we reviewed, Oct 2026
Non-QM asset qualifier (typical, varies by lender)No income or DTI calculation; assets must cover the loan amount, recurring debts, funds to close and reservesAssets usually seasoned several months; high minimum post-closing assetsAbout 75%About 700From about $150,000 up to about $4 millionOften primary residence and second home onlyUse a Nevada-licensed lender2026 wholesale lender guidelines we reviewed, Oct 2026

Varies by lender; typical published ranges, not an offer or a commitment to lend. No interest rate, APR or payment is quoted on this page.

Which assets count, and which usually don't

  • Usually counted at full value: checking, savings, money market accounts and CDs, documented with recent statements.
  • Brokerage accounts: many non-QM programs list investment accounts or stocks and bonds at 100%; others discount them, so check the guideline.
  • Retirement accounts: usually discounted (often about 70% to 80% in the guidelines we reviewed), and Fannie Mae subtracts any early-withdrawal penalty.
  • Seasoning: lenders want the money to have been in your accounts for a period (several months at many non-QM lenders, 12 months under Freddie Mac's update), and some make exceptions for proceeds from the sale of a business or a long-held home.
  • Usually not counted under agency rules: Fannie Mae excludes virtual currency, stock options, non-vested restricted stock, inheritance and divorce proceeds from employment-related assets. Non-QM lenders set their own lists.
  • Nevada taxes: Nevada "does not impose a state income tax on individuals" (Nevada Department of Taxation, fetched Oct 26, 2026), but federal taxes and withdrawal penalties on retirement accounts can still reduce what lenders count.
  • The house itself never counts: the ability-to-repay rule excludes the value of the home securing the loan.

Self-employed with strong deposits but modest tax-return income? A bank statement loan may qualify you on deposits instead, and our non-QM loans overview compares the options. Buying a rental? A DSCR loan qualifies on the property's rent.

How iQRATE compares asset depletion lenders

  • Same file, several lenders: we run your actual account statements against each lender's divisor and haircuts, because the same balances can produce very different qualifying income from one program to the next.
  • Agency first when it fits: if the loan is at or under the $832,750 Nevada conforming limit, we check whether a Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac asset rule works before moving to non-QM.
  • Full application first: complex asset files are shopped across our lender network only after a full application and complete statements, so lenders review a real file.

We work with buyers from our Las Vegas office across Nevada, including Las Vegas, Summerlin and Henderson. Call (702) 766-3744 or start an application.

Frequently asked questions

Which asset depletion mortgage lenders lend in Nevada?

Several non-QM lenders licensed in Nevada publish asset depletion or asset utilization programs. Their divisors, asset haircuts, credit minimums and loan sizes differ, and program terms change, so it varies by lender. iQRATE Mortgages is a licensed Las Vegas broker that compares these programs for Nevada buyers.

How do lenders turn my assets into qualifying income?

The lender takes eligible assets, applies its haircut to each account type, subtracts the money you need for down payment, closing costs and reserves, and divides the rest by a set number of months. Non-QM programs we reviewed publish divisors of 60, 84 or 120 months; Fannie Mae uses the loan's amortization term; Freddie Mac moves to 180 months.

Can I get an asset depletion jumbo loan in Las Vegas?

Yes. The 2026 conforming loan limit in Clark County is $832,750 for a one-unit home, and Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac asset rules stop at that limit. Above it, Las Vegas, Summerlin and Henderson buyers use non-QM asset depletion programs; published maximums we found run up to $3 million or $4 million, with lender-specific credit, down payment and reserve rules.

Which assets count for an asset depletion loan?

Published programs generally count checking, savings, money market accounts and CDs at full value, and many also count investment accounts or stocks and bonds at 100%. Retirement accounts are usually discounted, often to about 70% to 80%. Assets usually must be seasoned and documented with recent statements. Fannie Mae's agency rule is narrower: it covers employment-related assets and excludes virtual currency, inheritance and stock options.

Do I need to be retired or a certain age to use asset depletion?

No. Non-QM asset depletion programs are open to any borrower with enough eligible assets, retired or not. Age matters only in specific agency rules: Fannie Mae allows 80% LTV instead of 70% when the asset owner is at least 62, and Freddie Mac's 2027 update removes its age restriction for depository accounts and securities. Retirement account access rules can still apply.

Can I use asset depletion for a second home or investment property in Nevada?

It depends on the program. Fannie Mae allows principal residences and second homes only. Freddie Mac's update permits investment properties too. Among non-QM programs, some asset qualifier programs are limited to primary residences and second homes, while some asset depletion programs also allow investment properties; it varies by lender. For rentals, a DSCR loan that qualifies on rent may also fit.

Is an asset depletion loan allowed under the ability-to-repay rule?

Yes. The federal ability-to-repay rule, 12 CFR 1026.43, lets lenders rely on a consumer's income or assets, as long as the assets relied on are verified with third-party records such as account statements. The CFPB's official interpretation says a lender relying wholly on investment income does not need to verify employment. Many asset depletion loans are non-QM, but they still must meet ability-to-repay requirements.

Does Nevada having no state income tax change an asset depletion loan?

Not the lender's math. The Nevada Department of Taxation states that Nevada does not impose a state income tax on individuals, but lenders still apply their own divisors and haircuts to your account balances. Federal taxes and any withdrawal penalties on retirement accounts can still affect what counts. Consult a CPA or tax advisor about taxes before moving or withdrawing funds.

Information is educational, current as of October 29, 2026, and subject to change; it is not a commitment to lend. Programs, terms and eligibility vary by lender and borrower qualification. No interest rate, APR or payment is quoted on this page. This is not tax or legal advice; consult a CPA or attorney about taxes, retirement withdrawals and how to hold title. iQRATE Mortgages, NMLS 1862492. David Ghazaryan, NMLS 1486726. NMLS Consumer Access. Loans on investment property are for business purposes only. Equal Housing Opportunity.