By David Ghazaryan, NMLS 1486726, iQRATE Mortgages (NMLS 1862492). Updated October 29, 2026.

Short answer: A 5-8 unit building is too big for Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac 1-4 unit loans, so investors use non-QM 5-8 unit DSCR programs or small-balance multifamily loans. Published minimum DSCRs run from none to 1.25x; maximum LTVs, 75% to 80% (varies by lender). iQRATE Mortgages, a Las Vegas broker, compares these programs for Nevada, California, Texas and Florida investors.

Key facts (lender and agency pages checked October 26, 2026)

  • United States, 1-4 unit cap: Fannie Mae's Selling Guide (B2-3-01) states it buys first-lien mortgages on residential properties only when the dwelling has one to four units (Fannie Mae Selling Guide, fetched Oct 26, 2026).
  • United States, agency small multifamily: Fannie Mae's Small Mortgage Loan term sheet covers existing, stabilized properties with 5 or more units, loans up to $9 million nationwide, a maximum LTV of 80% and a minimum DSCR of 1.25x (Fannie Mae Multifamily, fetched Oct 26, 2026).
  • United States, occupancy test: Fannie Mae's Multifamily Guide, Chapter 9 (Small Mortgage Loans), requires a property with fewer than 10 units to have no more than 1 vacant unit at commitment and at least 90% average occupancy over the prior 12 months (Fannie Mae Multifamily Guide, fetched Oct 26, 2026).
  • United States, Freddie Mac: Freddie Mac stopped accepting Small Balance Loan applications as of April 30, 2026, per its SBL Guide addendum effective September 25, 2026 (Freddie Mac Multifamily, fetched Oct 26, 2026); its Optigo Conventional Small loans are generally $2 million to $10 million with a 1.25x minimum amortizing DCR (Freddie Mac Multifamily, fetched Oct 26, 2026).
  • California, Texas and Florida vs. Nevada, non-QM 5-8 unit DSCR: Program B publishes a 1.00 minimum DSCR, a 700 minimum FICO (720 in Florida) and loans of $400,000 to $2,000,000, available in 41 states; its state lists include California, Texas and Florida but not Nevada (varies by lender).
  • Nationwide except North Dakota and South Dakota: Program A lends on residential investment properties of 1 to 10 units with no minimum DSCR, up to 80% LTV on purchases and loans of $100,000 to $3,500,000 (varies by lender).
  • Federal business-purpose rule: Regulation Z exempts credit extended primarily for a business purpose (12 CFR 1026.3(a)), and the CFPB's official interpretation treats credit to acquire, improve or maintain a non-owner-occupied rental property as business purpose (CFPB, fetched Oct 26, 2026).
  • Clark County, Nevada, fiscal 2026-27: the general property tax cap is 8.0% versus a 3.0% residential cap (Nevada Department of Taxation, fetched Oct 26, 2026), and Clark County applies the up-to-8% cap to residences that are not owner occupied (Clark County, fetched Oct 26, 2026).

DSCR loan for 5-8 unit small multifamily lender

A DSCR loan for a 5-8 unit small multifamily building qualifies on the building's rent compared with the full payment (PITIA), not on your personal income. Two kinds of lenders do this. Non-QM 5-8 unit DSCR programs keep a residential-style structure, often with 30-year fixed or ARM terms, and publish credit-score, LTV and reserve grids much like 1-4 unit DSCR loans. Small-balance multifamily loans (Fannie Mae's Small Mortgage Loan, bank and private small-balance term loans) treat the property as commercial multifamily, often with 5-, 7- or 10-year terms, occupancy tests and higher minimum DSCRs.

The table below shows only parameters each program publishes. Where a program does not publish a figure, it says "Not stated" rather than guessing.

Why 5+ units leave Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac 1-4 unit rules

Conventional home loans sold to Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac are written for one- to four-unit dwellings; Fannie Mae's Selling Guide says so directly. At five units the same building becomes multifamily, which changes three things:

  • Different rulebook: agency financing moves to the multifamily side (Fannie Mae's Small Mortgage Loan, up to $9 million, 1.25x minimum DSCR, 80% maximum LTV, stabilized occupancy). Freddie Mac's Small Balance Loan program stopped taking new applications on April 30, 2026.
  • Different appraisal: lenders ask for a small residential income property or commercial-style appraisal with a rent roll, an income and expense statement and interior photos of every unit; one published 5-8 unit matrix lists Freddie Mac Form 71A and also requires a commercial broker price opinion.
  • Different borrower tests: many 5-8 unit DSCR programs require landlord experience, exclude short-term rental income and set a 1.00 minimum DSCR, where many 1-4 unit DSCR programs go lower.

For how standard 1-4 unit DSCR loans work in Nevada, see our DSCR loans in Las Vegas and Nevada page. Buildings that mix apartments with a shop or office are covered on our mixed-use loans page.

Published 5-8 unit DSCR and small multifamily program parameters

Varies by lender. Published parameters, not an offer. Figures are from lenders' and Fannie Mae's public program pages checked Oct 26, 2026. Lenders are not named. Where a page does not publish a figure, the table says "Not stated" rather than guessing.

Published 5-8 unit DSCR and small multifamily program parameters (varies by lender)
ProgramUnitsMinimum DSCRMaximum LTVLoan sizeMinimum credit scoreReservesPrepaymentState coverage
Program A (1-10 unit rental DSCR)1-10 units (program-wide; no separate 5-10 unit terms stated)No minimum DSCRUp to 80% purchase and rate-term; up to 75% cash-out$100,000 to $3,500,0006403 to 9 months of PITIATypically 5/4/3/2/1; 3/2/1, 2/1 or none also offeredEvery state except North Dakota and South Dakota (includes NV, CA, TX, FL)
Program B (5-8 unit multi-unit DSCR)5-8 residential; 2-8 mixed use1.00 (no sub-1.00 tier)Purchase 75%, rate-term 70%, cash-out 65% (up to $1.5M)$400,000 to $2,000,000700 (720 in CT, FL, NJ)6 months PITIA; 9 months over $1.5M; 12 months over $2.5MNot stated41 states; lists CA, TX, FL (FL overlay); Nevada not on its state lists
Program C (5-8 unit residential DSCR)5-8 residential1.0075% purchase at 700+ FICO up to $1.5M; lower at higher loan amounts and 680 FICO$250,000 to $3,000,000680 (lowest tier on grid)6 months; 9 months over $1.5MPer state prepayment matrix (varies by lender)Licensing page lists Nevada, California, Texas and Florida licenses
Program D (small-balance multifamily term loan)5+ units1.20x to 1.25xUp to 75%Up to $10 million; 30-year fixed option up to 10 units and $3 millionNot statedNot statedNot statedDoes not lend in Alaska, North Dakota, South Dakota or Vermont; lists Nevada and California licenses
Fannie Mae Multifamily Small Mortgage Loan (agency, through approved lenders)5+ units, existing and stabilized1.25x80%Up to $9 millionNot statedReplacement reserve and tax and insurance escrows typically required at higher leverageYield maintenance or declining prepayment premiumNationwide

Varies by lender; published parameters, not an offer. iQRATE Mortgages is not affiliated with these lenders, and inclusion is not an endorsement or a commitment to lend. No interest rate, APR or payment is quoted on this page.

DSCR loan for a 5-unit apartment building

A DSCR loan for a 5-unit apartment building is the smallest deal that leaves the 1-4 unit world, and it is where investors most often get surprised. What lenders usually ask for:

  • Rent roll and leases for every unit; lenders publishing vacancy limits often cap vacant units and count only part of market rent for them (varies by lender).
  • An income and expense statement and a full interior inspection of each unit.
  • Experience: two published 5-8 unit programs require at least 1 year of owning and managing investment real estate in the last 3 years.
  • Entity documents if you close in an LLC, plus a personal guarantee on most non-QM programs (varies by lender).
  • Reserves measured in months of PITIA, often higher for larger loans; cash-out proceeds may not count toward reserves on some programs.

Small multifamily loan 5 to 8 units Las Vegas

For a small multifamily loan of 5 to 8 units in Las Vegas, Henderson or elsewhere in Clark County, start with state coverage: not every 5-8 unit DSCR program lends in Nevada. On the program pages we checked, Program A lends in every state except North Dakota and South Dakota, and Programs C and D publish Nevada licenses, while Program B lists California, Texas and Florida but not Nevada (varies by lender).

Budget for property tax as part of PITIA. A 5-8 unit rental is not owner occupied, and for fiscal 2026-27 Clark County's general tax cap is 8.0% versus 3.0% for owner-occupied homes, so the tax line can grow faster than on a primary residence. Ask how each lender counts short-term rental units, since several 5-8 unit programs exclude short-term rental income.

In California, Texas and Florida the same table applies; watch state overlays such as Program B's 720 minimum FICO in Florida. iQRATE works with investors from our Las Vegas office across Nevada (Las Vegas, Henderson, Nevada), California (California, Los Angeles, San Diego), Texas (Texas, Dallas, Houston) and Florida (Florida, Miami).

How iQRATE handles 5-8 unit files

  • Program fit first: we check whether the building fits a non-QM 5-8 unit DSCR program, a small-balance multifamily loan or a mixed-use program, and whether that lender covers the property's state.
  • Complete package: complex deals are shopped across more than 100 lenders, but only after a full application and a complete document package (rent roll, leases, income and expense statement, entity documents), so lenders price a real file.

Holding several rentals? See portfolio loans, investor loans and our non-QM loans overview. Related DSCR guides: no-ratio DSCR loans, foreign national DSCR loans and Miami condo DSCR loans. Call (702) 766-3744 or start an application.

Frequently asked questions

Who is a DSCR loan for 5-8 unit small multifamily lender?

Two groups lend on 5-8 unit buildings. Non-QM DSCR lenders publish 5-8 unit or up-to-10-unit rental programs that qualify on rent, and small-balance multifamily lenders, including Fannie Mae's Small Mortgage Loan through its approved lenders, treat the building as commercial multifamily. Terms vary by lender. iQRATE Mortgages, a licensed broker, compares these programs for Nevada, California, Texas and Florida investors.

Why can't I use a regular Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac loan on a 5-unit building?

Fannie Mae's single-family Selling Guide only covers dwellings with one to four units. A building with five or more units falls under multifamily rules instead: Fannie Mae's Small Mortgage Loan requires 5 or more units, a stabilized property, a 1.25x minimum DSCR and at most 80% LTV, and Freddie Mac stopped taking new Small Balance Loan applications on April 30, 2026.

Can I get a DSCR loan for a 5-unit apartment building?

Yes. Several lenders publish DSCR programs for 5-8 residential units, and one published program covers rental loans for 1 to 10 units. A 5-unit building is usually appraised as small residential income property, so expect a rent roll, an income and expense statement, leases and photos of every unit. Approval depends on the property, credit, reserves and experience.

What minimum DSCR and maximum LTV do 5-8 unit lenders publish?

Published minimums on the program pages we checked range from no minimum DSCR to 1.00, 1.20x to 1.25x, and 1.25x for Fannie Mae's Small Mortgage Loan. Maximum LTV runs from 75% to 80% on purchases, with lower limits on cash-out and larger loans. These are published parameters, not an offer, and they vary by lender.

Which 5-8 unit DSCR lenders lend in Nevada, California, Texas and Florida?

Check each lender's footer or licensing page, because coverage differs. Of the programs we checked, one lends in every state except North Dakota and South Dakota, one lists Nevada, California, Texas and Florida licenses, one excludes only Alaska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Vermont, and one lists California, Texas and Florida but not Nevada for its multi-unit DSCR program.

Can I use short-term rental income on a 5-8 unit DSCR loan?

Often not. Two published 5-8 unit programs we checked say short-term rental income is not eligible, while another program covering up to 10 units does include short-term rentals. If your Las Vegas building has nightly units, ask about short-term rental rules before you apply, and confirm local permits. Rules vary by lender.

Do I need landlord experience for a small multifamily loan 5 to 8 units in Las Vegas?

Usually yes. Two published 5-8 unit programs require an experienced investor who has owned and managed investment real estate for at least 1 year in the last 3 years, and both exclude first-time investors. Fannie Mae's multifamily guide also reviews the borrower's experience owning or managing similar-size rental properties. First-time investors should ask each lender directly.

Are 5-8 unit DSCR loans covered by consumer mortgage rules?

Generally not. Regulation Z exempts credit extended primarily for a business purpose, and the CFPB's official interpretation treats credit to buy, improve or maintain a non-owner-occupied rental as business purpose. That is why 5-8 unit DSCR loans are for investment property only. If you plan to live in one of the units, ask about owner-occupied options instead.

Business-purpose loans for non-owner-occupied investment property only; investor loans for business purposes only, not for owner-occupied homes. Credit extended primarily for a business purpose is exempt from Regulation Z under 12 CFR 1026.3(a). Information is educational and subject to change; it is not a commitment to lend. All loans subject to credit approval, property eligibility and lender guidelines; programs, terms and eligibility vary by lender and borrower qualification and may change without notice. No interest rate, APR or payment is quoted on this page. Consult a CPA or attorney about tax, entity and legal questions. Lender and agency facts checked October 26, 2026; page updated October 29, 2026. iQRATE Mortgages, NMLS 1862492. David Ghazaryan, NMLS 1486726. (702) 766-3744. Equal Housing Opportunity. We do business in accordance with the federal Fair Housing Act and the Equal Credit Opportunity Act. Verify licensing at NMLS Consumer Access.