By David Ghazaryan, NMLS 1486726, iQRATE Mortgages (NMLS 1862492). Updated October 29, 2026.

Short answer: For a DSCR loan in Sacramento or the Inland Empire (Riverside and San Bernardino counties), investors can use private DSCR lenders that publish California coverage. On the five lender programs we checked, published minimum DSCRs run from none to 1.0 (varies by lender). iQRATE Mortgages, licensed in California, compares programs like these for each property.

Key facts (Oct 2026)

  • California, Sacramento County and the Inland Empire, statewide rent cap: the Tenant Protection Act (AB 1482, Civil Code 1947.12) caps annual increases at 5% plus the change in the cost of living, up to 10%, on most rentals more than 15 years old; for increases starting between 8/1/26 and 7/31/27 the Attorney General's chart lists 8.1% for the Riverside Area (Riverside and San Bernardino counties) and 8.6% for all other counties, which includes Sacramento County (California Attorney General rent caps, fetched Oct 26, 2026; Attorney General tenants page, fetched Oct 26, 2026).
  • City of Sacramento, local rent cap: the Tenant Protection Program (City Code chapter 5.156) limits increases to 5 percent plus the change in CPI, and effective July 1, 2026 the maximum increase is 8.6%; the chapter exempts single dwelling units, condominium units and units built after February 1, 1995 (City of Sacramento, fetched Oct 26, 2026; Sacramento City Code 5.156, fetched Oct 26, 2026).
  • City of Sacramento, short-term rentals: every operator of a stay of 30 days or less needs a short-term rental permit; a rental that is not the operator's primary residence may operate for a total of 90 days in a calendar year, and operators collect 12% transient occupancy tax (City of Sacramento, fetched Oct 26, 2026).
  • Sacramento County and City of Sacramento, transfer taxes: the county documentary transfer tax is $.55 for each $500 of value (Sacramento County Clerk/Recorder, fetched Oct 26, 2026), and the City of Sacramento charges $2.75 per thousand on the full value of consideration (City of Sacramento, fetched Oct 26, 2026).
  • Riverside County (unincorporated), short-term rentals: the Board of Supervisors adopted Ordinance No. 927.3 on August 25, 2026, effective September 24, 2026; a Short-Term Rental Certificate is required before advertising, and it does not run with the land, so a new owner must apply again (Riverside County Planning, fetched Oct 26, 2026).
  • San Bernardino County (unincorporated), short-term rentals: they are allowed only in the Mountain and Desert Regions in the RL, RS, RM, RC and AG zones, and a Short-Term Rental Permit is required to advertise and rent a unit there (San Bernardino County Land Use Services, fetched Oct 26, 2026; San Bernardino County STR, fetched Oct 26, 2026).
  • California, lender licensing: of the five programs we checked, two publish a California lending license in their footers (California Financing Law or California Finance Lender license), and one notes its DSCR and rental loans moved to a new originating lender effective 9/1/2026, so check the licensing line on each lender's site before you apply (varies by lender).
  • Federal business-purpose rule: Regulation Z exempts credit extended primarily for a business purpose (12 CFR 1026.3(a)), and the CFPB's official interpretation treats credit to acquire, improve or maintain a non-owner-occupied rental as business purpose, unless the owner expects to occupy it for more than 14 days during the coming year (CFPB, fetched Oct 26, 2026).

DSCR loan lender in Sacramento

A DSCR loan lender in Sacramento qualifies a rental on its rent compared with the full payment (PITIA), not on your tax returns or W-2s. Several programs in the table below lend in California under California Financing Law or California Finance Lender licenses, so check the licensing line on each lender's site before you apply.

Three local rules shape a Sacramento DSCR file:

  • Rent caps: rental units inside city limits fall under the city's Tenant Protection Program (8.6% maximum increase from July 1, 2026) unless exempt; single dwelling units, condominium units and units built after February 1, 1995 are exempt from it and may still fall under the statewide AB 1482 cap. A lender sizes the loan on today's rent; future increases depend on which cap applies.
  • Short-term rentals: a non-primary-residence short-term rental inside the city is limited to 90 days in a calendar year, so ask each lender whether it will count short-term income on a property limited that way (varies by lender).
  • Closing costs: inside city limits the city's $2.75 per thousand transfer tax applies on top of the county documentary transfer tax.

Our Sacramento mortgage broker page covers loan limits and buyer programs; nearby, see Roseville.

DSCR loans in the Inland Empire (Riverside and San Bernardino counties)

DSCR loans in the Inland Empire work the same way, but the rent cap and short-term rental rules differ by county and city:

  • Statewide cap, different number: Riverside and San Bernardino counties use the Riverside Area cost-of-living figure, so the AB 1482 cap for increases starting 8/1/26 through 7/31/27 is 8.1%, compared with 8.6% in Sacramento County.
  • Riverside County short-term rentals: in unincorporated areas a Short-Term Rental Certificate is required, Ordinance No. 927.3 took effect September 24, 2026, and the certificate does not transfer with a sale, so a buyer cannot count on the seller's certificate.
  • San Bernardino County short-term rentals: in unincorporated areas they are allowed only in the Mountain and Desert Regions, with a permit. Incorporated cities set their own rules; confirm the address before relying on nightly income.

See our Riverside and Inland Empire mortgage broker and Temecula pages for local loan limits, taxes and buyer programs.

DSCR loan lender Sacramento or Inland Empire: published lender parameters

Varies by lender. Published parameters, not an offer. Figures are from lenders' public program pages checked Oct 26, 2026. Lenders are not named. State coverage comes from each lender's own footer, state list or licensing page. Where a program does not publish a figure, the table says "Not stated" rather than guessing.

DSCR loan lender Sacramento or Inland Empire: published program parameters (varies by lender)
ProgramMinimum DSCR (published)Maximum LTV (published)Loan size (published)Minimum FICO (published)Property types (published)State coverage
Program A (DSCR rental loan)As low as 0.75Up to 80%; cash-out up to 75%$75K to $2.5M in the loan highlights; the same page also says up to $3.5 million (varies by lender)Minimum average FICO of 680 generally requiredSFR, condo, townhome, 2-4 plex, multifamily up to 9 units; short-term rentals okayLending locations include California (Nevada not listed); California loans under California Financing Law licenses
Program B (DSCR loan)As low as 0.8xUp to 80%Not statedNot statedSFR, PUD, 2-4 units, condos; qualifying rent is the lower of 110% of appraised market rent and lease rent49 states + DC, including CA and NV; lends to business entities
Program C (1-10 unit rental DSCR)No minimum DSCRUp to 80% purchase and rate-term; up to 75% cash-out$100,000 to $3,500,000640Residential investment properties, 1-10 units, including mixed use and short-term rentalsEvery state except North Dakota and South Dakota
Program D (single family rental loan)At least 1.0Up to 80% purchase and rate-term; up to 75% cash-out$85k to $2.5M6601 to 9 unitsDoes not lend in Alaska, North Dakota, South Dakota or Vermont; California Finance Lender license
Program E (DSCR loans)No minimum DSCR; no-ratio option up to 75% LTV with 700+ FICONot stated as a single figure; 15% down at 740 and above$100K to $4.5M620Not statedSays it originates DSCR loans in all 50 states and D.C.; licensed in 47 states plus D.C.

Varies by lender; published parameters, not an offer. iQRATE Mortgages is not affiliated with these lenders, and inclusion is not an endorsement or a commitment to lend. No interest rate, APR or payment is quoted on this page.

What California DSCR lenders usually ask for

  • Rent evidence: a lease, an appraiser's market rent schedule, or both; some lenders cap the rent they will use (one program we checked uses the lower of 110% of appraised market rent and your lease rent).
  • Entity documents if you close in an LLC, plus a personal guarantee on most programs (varies by lender).
  • Reserves and credit: months of PITIA in reserves and a minimum credit score that differs by lender (varies by lender).
  • Local permits for any short-term rental income: the city or county permit, and for unincorporated Riverside County a certificate in the new owner's name.

How iQRATE handles Sacramento and Inland Empire DSCR files

  • Program fit first: we check the property type, rent source, rent-cap status and short-term rental rules, then which lenders cover California for that file.
  • Complete package: complex deals are shopped across more than 100 lenders, but only after a full application and a complete document package, so lenders price a real file.

More on rental financing: DSCR loans, investor loans, portfolio loans, non-QM loans and bank statement loans. California investors can also see California, Los Angeles and San Diego, and our closing costs by state guide. Related DSCR guides: no-ratio DSCR loans, 5-8 unit multifamily DSCR loans and foreign national DSCR loans. Call (702) 766-3744 or start an application.

Frequently asked questions

Who is a DSCR loan lender in Sacramento or the Inland Empire?

Private DSCR lenders that publish California coverage. On the five lender program pages we checked Oct 26, 2026, all show California in their state coverage or licensing. iQRATE Mortgages, licensed in California, compares DSCR programs like these for Sacramento, Riverside and San Bernardino County rentals. Terms vary by lender.

What minimum DSCR, LTV and credit score do California DSCR lenders publish?

On the lender pages we checked, published minimum DSCRs range from no minimum (two programs) to 0.75, 0.8x and 1.0. Maximum LTV is up to 80% on purchases at several lenders, and published minimum credit scores range from 620 to 680. These are published parameters, not an offer, and they vary by lender.

Does Sacramento's rent control affect a DSCR loan?

It can affect future rent, not the lender's formula. The City of Sacramento's Tenant Protection Program caps increases at 5 percent plus CPI, 8.6% effective July 1, 2026, but exempts single dwelling units, condominium units and units built after February 1, 1995. Exempt units may still fall under the statewide cap. Check the unit before you buy.

What is the AB 1482 rent cap in Riverside and San Bernardino counties?

For rent increases starting between 8/1/26 and 7/31/27, the California Attorney General's chart lists 8.1% for the Riverside Area, which covers Riverside and San Bernardino counties, compared with 8.6% for all other counties, including Sacramento County. The cap applies to most rentals more than 15 years old; local rules can be lower.

Can I use short-term rental income on a Sacramento DSCR loan?

Only if the city allows the use and the lender counts it. The City of Sacramento requires a short-term rental permit for stays of 30 days or less and limits a rental that is not the operator's primary residence to 90 days in a calendar year. Two programs we checked say short-term rentals are eligible; ask how rent is counted.

Can I get a DSCR loan for a short-term rental in Riverside or San Bernardino County?

Check the local rule first. Unincorporated Riverside County requires a Short-Term Rental Certificate that does not run with the land, so a buyer must apply again after closing under Ordinance No. 927.3. Unincorporated San Bernardino County allows short-term rentals only in its Mountain and Desert Regions, with a permit. City rules differ.

Can I close a Sacramento or Inland Empire DSCR loan in an LLC?

Often yes. One program we checked lends to business entities in all states where it offers loans, another recommends borrowing through an LLC and requires a full guaranty from anyone with more than 25% ownership, and a third says in certain states it lends only to business entities. Have your entity documents ready (varies by lender).

Are DSCR loans in California covered by consumer mortgage rules?

Generally not. Regulation Z exempts credit extended primarily for a business purpose, and the CFPB's official interpretation treats credit to buy, improve or maintain a non-owner-occupied rental as business purpose. If you expect to live in the property more than 14 days in the coming year, it is not treated as non-owner-occupied.

Business-purpose loans for non-owner-occupied investment property only; investor loans for business purposes only, not for owner-occupied homes. Credit extended primarily for a business purpose is exempt from Regulation Z under 12 CFR 1026.3(a). Information is educational and subject to change; it is not a commitment to lend. All loans subject to credit approval, property eligibility and lender guidelines; programs, terms and eligibility vary by lender and borrower qualification and may change without notice. No interest rate, APR or payment is quoted on this page. Rent-cap and short-term rental rules are summarized from public agency pages; consult a CPA or attorney about tax, entity and legal questions. Lender and agency facts checked October 26, 2026; page updated October 29, 2026. iQRATE Mortgages, NMLS 1862492. David Ghazaryan, NMLS 1486726. (702) 766-3744. Equal Housing Opportunity. We do business in accordance with the federal Fair Housing Act and the Equal Credit Opportunity Act. Verify licensing at NMLS Consumer Access.